My Deepest Fear… Diets

14. diabetic-diet
Photo By TipsTimes

Whenever I hear a friend or family member say “I am starting a Diet!”, I instantly get the chills. I know, I know, I am dramatic! But, hear me out! I get anxiety and fear because more often than not diets are used as “get thin quick schemes.” I say that because most fad diets out these days are not meant for long term maintenance nor do they focus on supporting a healthy lifestyle. Instead, a lot of diet plans try to restrict the nutrients that you need in your body, to get the results that you want.

I personally can not pretend that I have not tried multiple fad diets and although within a couple weeks I could see a difference on the scale, I unfortunately could also feel a negative difference in my body. On one side I found that diminishing carbohydrates lightened my weight by 5 or 6 pounds but also its absence caused me to feel hungry 24/7 L. I also found that my energy levels were dramatically off, playing soccer or running a mile became so much more taxing than it had ever been before. :/

Diets to me, are short term quick fixes, that can easily rob you of your healthy lifestyle creativity. Think about it, day by day you are given a menu full of dry recipes that leave no room for your individuality or preferences. This scares me, because more often than not we each underestimate our capability to make great decisions for ourselves, and instead use a very general diet guideline. Don’t get me wrong I don’t believe diets are a horrible thing. I just believe that you need to do adequate research on the diets you choose and make modifications that meet your needs. Diet books do not contain the secrets of the healthy living universe, diet books are introductory guidelines that can be used as a spring board to obtaining a healthier you. At the end of the day, remember that you are your biggest asset, you know what is right for your body. Do what feels right! ❤

“You are Stronger than you realize. You are more Capable than you can imagine. You CAN DO IT now!”
– Dieter F. Uchtdorf

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

