Sweet, Sweet, SWEAT!

 

5447958713_050cab91aa_z
Photo By: E’Lisa Campbell

The first thing I think about when the word exercise surfaces in my head is, therapy. It’s odd because not too long ago my first thought would be a word that basically described a feeling of dread. Exercise for me as well as so many others was a massive chore and something that I only did because it was an expected pass time. Back then, I thought it was necessary to be seen as “healthy” in my overweight state.

Now, I have come to realize how therapeutic sweating is. For some reason when you are climbing that stair master, or hitting your fastest mile none of your worries or problems feel like they can keep up with you. Exercise although tiring, can be the biggest recharge to your life, it can become your escape from stress, and your only opportunity for “me time”. Exercise is not only physically essential, but also emotionally necessary.

I tell you this not to mesmerize you with the ways of the treadmill, nor do I want to force you to come spend 3 hours at the gym with me. I just want you to find what is a physical release for you. Studies across the world show that people actively and continuously do what they love and what makes them feel good. I personally have been regularly going to the gym for about 3 months now, and I’m not going to lie its recently started to get boring because I tend to do the same thing everyday. Yet I keep going, because exercise is one of the most flexible past times you can put into your, schedule and it doesn’t ever have to be boring.

I enjoy leg day, everyday, I know I sound like a masochist, and to most it seems like a weird form of torture but I really enjoy it. I also love playing soccer and until about a week ago I hadn’t stepped foot on a soccer field in six years. I can’t pretend, the process of getting back on the field was terrifying. Every negative thought went through my head of how I could possibly embarrass myself or that I may not be able to keep up with the rest of the team.

Although I did think about leaving before my teammates could catch me something inside of me screamed “Get on the field, you need this!”. That something inside of me was right, exercise comes in many forms and our biggest enemy or bully is ourselves, you don’t have to have all the answers. You are completely capable of being your own athletic rock star just by trying something new. Go join a new dance studio or maybe take up a sport you always wanted to try. Learn the art of dance fighting or join a running club that meets once a week. Do anything that keeps you active and makes you feel alive! Exercise is the only thing in your day that you truly do for yourself so make it mean something! ❤

“I do it as therapy. I do it as something to keep me alive. We all need a little discipline. Exercise is my discipline.” – Jack Lalanne

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

