No Bully Zone!

photo-1421091242698-34f6ad7fc088
Photo By Joshua Sortino

So last week we discussed our progress and how to celebrate the mini milestones that you will come across on the road to a healthier you! Although progress is the constant goal we are all seeking, I believe that we also have another goal that is often forgotten. This forgotten goal is happiness. I know, I know, that was a very generic answer but it is true.

As cheesy as it may seem happiness is just another word for positivity. Positivity in my opinion is one of the most important ingredients to living a healthier lifestyle. I stand by this attitude because a healthy mind can determine the health of your body. Lets take a second and recall our thoughts that we have had today, yesterday and in our past few weeks.

Have they all been positive? Have they included thoughts of comparison between you and another? Have any included you bullying yourself? If you honestly can say they have all been positive, that is so awesome, but if like me you know that is not the case, we have some work to do!

I have spent this last weekend constantly comparing myself to the people around me. At times I have wished I had my best friend’s abs or my sisters smile. I’ve spent time closely examining myself in the mirror looking at every imperfection until I snap out of my destructive mental zone. That zone of negativity is a leach of your happiness and motivation. It can deter you from going to the gym and or push you towards that late night run to McDonald’s. :/

Negative thoughts have the power to blind you from seeing how far you’ve come and make you forget how amazing of a person you are. I can’t stress enough how much positive thinking can change your outlook on the journey you have ahead of you. So today I want you all to do me a favor! Today when you get home grab four small pieces of paper or Post-it notes and write these statements on them:

1) I am unstoppable!

2) I will reach all of my goals!

3) I am better today than I was yesterday!

4) I will not give up!

       After you write these notes put them on the mirror in your bathroom so you can read them every morning or place them in an area that you look at everyday. As the days pass add more positive post-it notes to celebrate your progress and create statements that have the ability to snap you out of negativity. We are all works in progress and by no mean do any of us  have it all figured out but, we have to promise that we wont sabotage our own progress. Each day we will all face critics and Negative Nancy’s however we must always be able to remind ourselves that we are remarkable and one of a kind! ❤

“Keep your thoughts positive because your thoughts become your words.
Keep your words positive because your words become your behavior.
Keep your behavior positive because your behavior becomes your habits.
Keep your habits positive because your habits become your values.
Keep your values positive because your values become your destiny.”
– Gandhi

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

