Ask! Ease! Fuel! Stretch! Repeat!

 

photo-1444850264539-b1371b0d28e1

Photo By Jake Ingle

Earlier this week we discussed the obligation of incorporating fitness into your weekly routines. We were able to understand the positive physical and emotional benefits of regular exercise. These benefits are just the cherry on top when you think about the overall support it provides your healthy living lifestyle. Today let’s discuss the realities of fitness and the precautions we must take in order to be successful.

If you don’t know how to do something, Ask! As I have said in earlier posts, I am something of a know it all but I can admit when I have no idea what I am doing. Whether that be V-ups or Russian twists (which are real workouts by the way), I always explore my resources that I can perform the exercise correctly. Where should you look, you ask? Everywhere, ask a personal trainer/friend, search it on Google, and look it up on YouTube! The world is an endless resource for understanding how to correctly perform a new workout routine that you are trying.

Don’t forget to, ease into vigorous routines! I am currently attempting to not only get into better shape but also train for a 5k or 10k (I haven’t decided yet)! Because of this goal I have taken to the Nike Running app to coach me through a normal running routine for a somewhat off the couch runner. I also know that I like to lift heavyweights but realistically I am not the same lifter I was when I was 16 (back then I could lift my weight plus some), so I learn to take it easy and really listen to my body.

Provide fuel for your body! Do not skimp yourself on food even if you think you don’t deserve that extra snack. This is something that I personally struggle with. I often find myself making excuses as to why I can’t eat something or sticking to the same amount of food that I could eat on a low exercise day, as I would on a high exercise day. Don’t create these habits for yourself, the more you exercise the more fuel your body will need. Try to change it up or constantly snack on healthy fruits and vegetables, but don’t forget to get your daily fix of protein to keep that body going strong.

Stretch, Stretch, and Stretch some more! Stretching is such a necessary evil. I call it evil because I hate stretching, it literally is the most dreaded part of practices and working out for me. Stretching to me feels like a waste of time prior to starting the stretches but then I quickly learn its importance when I start to feel that knot in my back. Stretching is also able to prevent many injuries that can occur during exercise as well as provide a signal of an injury or tightness that you weren’t aware of.

I apologize if todays post may seem super long, remedial or annoying. This subject Is on my mind and being felt throughout my body due to an unpredicted minor hamstring injury that I am currently sporting. Long story short, I got a little to zealous when playing goalie at a soccer practice and learned that I can do the splits. Although my body seems to quickly be bouncing back I know I will be out of the gym for at least the next couple of days. 😦

I say this to you to remind you to not become overly confident when exercising this week and in the future. Listen to your body and remember that although you are stronger than you were last month, last week and even yesterday by no means are you the
12-year-old that used to walk off soccer balls to the back of the head (true story). You are still working towards your healthiest self and being stuck on the couch for a few days can really bruise your ego and drain your motivation. Take it easy this week and remember we are all on the path to healthier living together, it’s not a race but a journey! ❤

“There is no one giant step that does it, it is a lot of little steps.” – Peter A Cohen

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

