Mmmmm…

BLog 17pic
Photo By Alex Jones

“I want to stuff some chocolate in my face…” I definitely sympathize with Princess Anna. After joining the healthy living journey, more than ever do I want to eat all of the foods that I know I shouldn’t. As I walk around my home I open the freezer dreaming of the buckets of ice cream that should be waiting, but instead find those morning star veggie crumbles that have become the new meal staple.

Sadly, at this point in the journey the food you might be eating may start to get boring and you will more than likely decide to go out to eat. Eating out when you are on your way towards healthier living can be very difficult if you don’t plan ahead. The key to fast food and restaurants is to understand the menu before you go eat. In this day and age almost all menus are made available online. If you are anything like me, an indecisive restaurant goer, looking at the menu online before going can help save you time when you go in to these awesome eateries.

Looking at the menu ahead of time can also help protect you from the temptation of an overwhelming menu. I constantly have to remind myself to look at the menu before I walk into restaurants like the cheesecake factory. The issue I have with their restaurant and restaurants like theirs, is the huge menu that they offer. I almost always get lost in their enormous menu, whether its their extensive list of fattening favorites or their never ending list of mouth watering appetizers, don’t even get me started on their cheesecake menu. Needless to say for places that you know pack thousands of calories into all of their dishes, you must keep in mind that the healthier options may get lost in the information overload.

You should also remember that almost all dishes can be customized. Substitutions are not as frowned down upon as you are made to think. In more cases than not chefs would prefer you eat your food and not move it around the plate. Fries and hash browns can always be substituted for salads and fruit bowls, at almost every restaurant you walk into. You can also change the way your food is cooked; at certain restaurants you are able to ask for baked items and or limited oil additives.

Eating out is a popular community pastime. We are often invited to eat out with friends at a moments notice. That unexpected invitation can cause anxiety and guilt for many but it doesn’t have to. I challenge you to look up the menus at your favorite places, make a mental or physical note of the items that align with your healthy eating habits. By doing this you will be able to better enjoy your restaurant hangouts with your friends and family. ❤

“You are what you eat – so don’t be Fast, Cheap, Easy, or Fake.”
– Unknown

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

