Back On the Saddle We Go!

 

BLog 18 pic
Photo By Alex Wigan

So this week exercise and I got back together with my dear old friend, the GYM. I found myself at the gym at O’Bright-thirty with a grimace on my face, dreading the start of my hour long cycling class. As the class began our instructor enthusiastically welcomed me back to class… It was embarrassing to say the least. As I sat there cycling and panting my little lungs away I realized how much I missed this upbeat day starter.

There was something about this class that continued to bring ridiculous satisfaction and made me feel like I effectively pushed my body to its current limits. After cycling, I was more motivated to not give in to cravings and was energized throughout the day. I tell you this today to note that jumping back on the saddle after you have fallen off wont be a horrible experience. I was so afraid that all of my exercise class instructors would be disappointed in me and not welcome me with open arms.

I feared that I would not be able to keep up with the class and embarrass myself. I irrationally feared a lot of things but fortunately, I was wrong… I was wrong, to think that this journey was for anyone but myself. Wrong, to believe that my body was no longer capable of its past milestones. I am glad I was wrong!

Had I not gone back I would not be able to accurately understand the appreciation I have for this healthy living journey. Falling off of a journey or habit, happens to us all. I believe that we often expect the worst when it comes to our return to the plans we have set for ourselves. Don’t be so hard on yourself just jump back on and get back into the flow.

This week I want you to think about how far you have come. Think about the high’s and the low’s. Ask yourself what you’ve done to overcome all low’s while celebrating all of your high’s. After you do that, I challenge you to find two motivating quotes that will help keep you on track. After you find them take a screen shot/save them, print them out, and pin them to your wall or tape them to your bathroom mirror. These will be positive reminders of your overall goal, which is to be healthy. Don’t lose sight of that goal, you are well on your way! ❤

“Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.” – Thomas Edison

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

