Save your Excuses!

Blog 19 pic
Photo By Austin Schmid

I am a firm believer that nothing worth having comes easy. I say this because I believe that we must work hard for what we are hoping to achieve on our healthy living journey. With that being said let’s take the time today to discuss an obstacle that we all create for ourselves, excuses. Excuses are the catalyst to declining motivation and laziness.

Excuses are a natural reaction to things that are out of our comfort zone. We often make excuses as to why we are late and why an assigned task hasn’t been completed but the true reason is that it wasn’t a true priority.  To make an excuse is to attempt to deflect the responsibility towards someone or something else. In terms of healthy living I often make excuses as to why I didn’t make it to the gym or why I chose greasy food over fresh veggies.

Excuses are a means of attempting to create a reason as to why we repeatedly make the same bad choices. So today let’s be honest with ourselves! Why is it that we fail to commit to goals that we set for ourselves? I believe that it is that at times we are unrealistic and lack the ability to update our strategies.

I think that we are being unrealistic when we set goals with the quickest result in mind. If you don’t believe me, take some time and think about all of the get thin quick scheme ideas out there. These schemes range from pills to cleanses. Not only are these plans unrealistic for maintenance but can also be very dangerous for your overall health. The healthy living journey isn’t about quick fixes nor is about impressing everyone around you.

This journey is about you and your future achieved goals. I challenge you to grab a sheet of paper and write down all of your most common excuses. After you are finished writing them down, find a place you pass everyday and post the page to that area. Everyday you will pass your excuses and acknowledge that you don’t need them. Stay positive, set realistic goals and motivated my friends. ❤

“Ninety-Nine percent of the failures come from people who have the habit of making excuses.” –George Washington Carver

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

