Can you help me?

Blog 21 Pic
Photo By Mario Puristic

As a recovering know it all, I am the last person anyone would expect to advise another to ask those around you for assistance, but today I am turning a new leaf. As I have expanded my healthy living community and inner circle I have realized how much hidden talent we have in our corner. Whether it is a friend who is a certified trainer or a friend who enjoys making healthy recipes, our healthy living support systems are often bursting with hidden talent! So, today lets discuss how to take full advantage of those we surround ourselves with.

More often than not we create a goal or plan that is kept hidden from the rest of the world. It stays in the dark for many reasons. One of which could be that you prefer to show others the finished product and hide the steps along the way. Another could be that you believe that you have to go it alone in order to make the process mean something. Regardless of what your reason for disguising your hard work, we can all agree that the process could be a whole lot easier when obstacles are attacked as a team.

Recently, I have discovered that one of my friends enjoys creating weekly menus and food prepping. As I sat and listened to her talk about how much she enjoys the process of creating the menus, as well as loves to make them for all of her friends, my mind was blown. I was shocked that I had this kind of resource only a text message away. I began to wonder why I had never leaned on her before and realized it was because of my own know it all tendencies.

As most of you may recall, I have a Bachelors in Nutrition. In my course studies I was required to make meal plans for fictional patients all the time. I think that because of this training I often doubted that I needed assistance in the category and I was completely wrong. The resources around you are not placed by accident. So often we forget that our neighbor or teammate can provide some of the best healthy living advice and wisdom. The information that we are able to absorb from them is at times the most valuable because, it is a real life person who has experienced your struggle and cares about your well being.

Today I challenge you to create a list of all of the people you know that are living a healthy lifestyle. Make note of the things that you might admire about them and areas you think that they may have some expert advice about. After you make the list, reach out to at least four of these people and ask them questions about their respective areas. These people will give you amazing support and will remind you that you don’t have to go it alone! ❤

“Alone we can do little, Together we can do so much!” – Helen Keller

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

