Trust me you aren’t going to Fail!

Blog 22 pic
Photo By Chanan Greenblatt

Fear of failure can often be the largest obstacle that we face on our healthy living journey. Its boundary confines us in our own mental negativity and insecurities. These insecurities can be from our past and or from the fear of the unknown. So often we avoid the areas of our life that can bring the most vulnerability even if it promises a much larger benefit in the end.

I have found that my fear of failure stems from my need for perfection. This perfection came from my demand to maintain constant separation from what I show to others and what is present behind closed doors. A perfect example took place about four years ago when my sister asked me to run in my first 10K. I was 19 years old and was actually at my highest physical health, yet I was fearful of the challenge.

The challenge scared me because I was afraid of disappointing my sister who was a marathon runner. I didn’t want her to get slowed down by me, nor did I want to not be able to actually complete it. I was also scared that I would embarrass myself by not being adequately prepared for the physical challenge. Fortunately, I was so wrong about my ability and the expectations of my sister.

As I began running through the capital and observed my fellow runners taking the journey with me I understood that the purpose of the run was not perfection. Its purpose was to better yourself at what ever physical level you walked up to the starting line at. The whole experience was amazing to say the least. I got the opportunity to try something that I don’t think I would have signed up for on my own and create a closer bond with my sister that I couldn’t have imagined possible.

I tell you this today to remind you that failure and perfection is a box that you create in your mind. It by no means should define how you feel about yourself or how you regard your amazing potential. More often than not we set these worst case scenarios for ourselves and inadvertently stop our progress before it even starts. Regardless of what you think the outcome will be the least you can do is try, as my mom always says to me the worst thing that they can say is “no” and I think that we sometime mistakenly say it to ourselves too.

To many this may seem like an exhausted topic but when it comes to healthy living I believe that nothing can be discussed too much. I don’t want anyone (myself included) to ever prevent a milestone before it is ever a possibility. Today, I want you to write down a healthy living bucket list. This list should consist of any and every health goal that you have for yourself big and small. When your done writing down what you want to achieve pin it somewhere in your room and promise yourself that you will try to do at least two things from your list. Remember nothing is impossible if we believe that we can do it, and I believe that you can! ❤

“Don’t worry about failures, worry about the chances you miss when you don’t
even try.” – Jack Canfield

 

Author: Christine Adelaja

Hi, I'm Christine! I am currently working towards my Masters in Business Administration with plans to bridge the gap between Nutrition and Business. I believe the road to healthy living is both beautiful, empowering and one never ending joke. My essential purpose is to motivate and empower others towards living a healthy lifestyle through education and guidance!

Leave a Reply

